"Writing inquiries is not the sole province of classroom teachers. Librarians, archivists, and museum educators can offer useful guidance to teachers, but they can also make an enormous contribution by creating inquiries that reflect the unique resources that they have on hand." ~S. G. Grant - Professor of Social Studies Education – Binghamton University, Manager of the NYS K-12 Social Studies Toolkit Project

New York State Archives
http://www.archives.nysed.gov/aindex.shtml
Provides access to historical and state-specific records.

Ancestry.com through the New York State Archives

http://www.archives.nysed.gov/research/how-to-video-ancestry
Free access to New York state information.

Documents and Learning Activities at the New York State Archives
http://www.archives.nysed.gov/education

New York Digital Heritage

http://www.nyheritage.org/

Primary sources supported by the NY 3R's Association.

Erie Canalway - National Heritage Corridor 

https://eriecanalway.org/learn/teachers/resources

They provide grants for fieldtrips.

World Digital Library 

 12,320 items about 193 countries between 8000 BCE and 2000 CE

British Museum 
In 2016 contains 2,267,394 records available, which represent more than 3,500,000 objects. 946,840 records have one or more images.

British Library 
A digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.  Contains key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. Was founded by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust in 2003. In 2016 the collection contains over 1,260 volumes and is always growing.

Thinkport Inquiry Kit Topic List:  Breaking Barriers
https://www.mdhumanities.org/wp-content/uploads/Thinkport-Inquiry-Kit-Topic-List.pdf

TEACHING HISTORY WITH 100 OBJECTS from the British Museum. 

AFRICA NEWS IN ENGLISH
Compilation of links to African newspapers by county.

WORLD HISTORY SOURCES 

The Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University received funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation to create World History Sources.

A Selection of Subscription Resources
Gale WORLD HISTORY IN CONTEXT (Check with your school librarian to see if your school subscribes and for username and password.)

Click on "Advanced" and limit to "primary sources" there are other formats as well "images" etc.

EBSCO / ABC Clio - DAILY LIFE THROUGH HISTORY (Check with your school librarian see if your school subscribes and for username and password.)

Especially check out the Perspectives section.

Britannica IMAGEQUEST (Check with your school librarian see if your school subscribes and for username and password.)

For copyright free for educators images; photographs of artwork, sculpture, etc.

Cyberman Primary sources webpage  http://cybraryman.com/primary.html

Japanese American Internment During World War II:  http://www.loc.gov/teachers/classroommaterials/primarysourcesets/internment/

https://www.kidcitizen.net/

IN KIDCITIZEN EPISODES, CHILDREN INTERACTIVELY EXPLORE CONGRESS AND CIVIC ENGAGEMENT THROUGH HISTORICAL PRIMARY SOURCES, AND CONNECT WHAT THEY FIND WITH THEIR DAILY LIVES.

 (These do include New York resources as well):

Library of Congress exhibitions, digital collections, and primary source set pages.

Materials in the Library of Congress and other institutions' collections.  
Curriculum Materials - select New York under "State", the grade you are interested and "Social Studies".  Also check out their Teacher pages .

Primary Source Analysis Tool

http://www.loc.gov/teachers/primary-source-analysis-tool/

Resources from Library of Congress Teaching with Primary Sources Grants (East coast)
Lesson Plans, Units, PD Plans, Activities, and Book Backdrops to engage and empower your students. This vetted searchable database of teacher-created resources is your source of inspiration for primary source driven teaching across the curriculum. 

https://www.waynesburg.edu/community/tps-eastern-region/ideas-activities-and-plans

Thinkport Inquiry Kit Topic List:  Breaking Barriers (from Maryland Humanities Council)
https://www.mdhumanities.org/wp-content/uploads/Thinkport-Inquiry-Kit-Topic-List.pdf
 

National Archives Teaching with Documents Lesson Plans
https://www.docsteach.org/