Skip to Main Content

O2CM SLS: Webinars

Webinars

Britannica LaunchPacks Social Studies

 


Britannica LaunchPacks Science can support you during virtual learning days.  Please find a recording of the webinar below and some additional support resources to get you up and running with LaunchPacks for and Science.

NewsBank

ACCESS WORLD NEWS recorded webinar (April 2020)
https://youtu.be/ti34VTHfc2o

 

NEWSBANK recorded help videos:

https://www.newsbank.com/videos?qt-video_gallery_tabs=1#qt-video_gallery_tabs

 

NEWSBANK Historic Newspapers databases webinar recording (April 1, 2020)

 

LEGENDS OF LEARNING Webinar (March 31, 2020)

Legends of Learning logo

OER

"Breaking the Mold: Rethinking K-12 and How OER Can Help Webinar

A

AA

April 28, 2020  Kristina Ishmael
This webinar was presented by Kristina Ishmael, the Senior Project Manager of the Teaching, Learning, and Tech team for the Education Policy program at New America, which allows her to support states, districts, and educators rethinking the role of instructional materials to create deeper learning opportunities for students. Ishmael is passionate about changing teaching and learning to provide more equitable access and opportunities to all learners. Before joining New America, Ishmael was the K-12 Open Education fellow at the Office of Educational Technology, where she developed and grew the #GoOpen movement.

This webinar is the first in a series on Open Educational Resources (OER). Others in the series will cover legal and fair-use issues with OER, and several on specific subject-specific OER that educators can start using with students.

The state of education during the COVID-19 pandemic is forcing us to question tradition. The classroom textbook is a long-held tradition that requires intentional rethinking-especially now. We have the chance to break the mold and use Open Educational Resources (OER)-freely available educational materials that can be downloaded, edited, and shared-to be more flexible, inclusive and representative, and to help rethink the role of instructional materials to support better instructional practices.
Slide Presentation
Webinar Recording
Related Link:
The American University's PROGRAM ON INFORMATION JUSTICE AND INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY   : auw.cl/oer 

E-Sports with Lindsay Cesari (Durgee Junior High, Baldwinsville) and Mary Klucznik (Chittenango High School)

Webinar Recording:  https://ensemble.cnyric.org/Watch/Tb94Zpo2  

Slide Presentation:  https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1ZzRB3Fi0EJnndsneU5FWLZUc4zmocRYwpwhTZYXvx0E/edit?usp=sharing

Sketchnoting with Lindsay Cesari (Durgee Junior High, Baldwinsville) 
Intro to Sketchnoting
 
Here's the link to the slides from the Sketchnoting webinar:
 
https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1iDNH8tXvrGb9HvlE2a7jHjhe53jD0Hg1ieLKuPdx08w/edit?usp=sharing
 
Recording:
 
Please do the evaluation for the webinar:
https://www.jotform.com/92656285777172  
 
Wakelet webinar presented by Leslie Cartier, Baker High School Librarian
 
  Here are the links to the presentation: 

Bitmojis and School Libraries!

 

Webinars

 

Recording of the RAZ-PLUS March 25, 2020 afternoon session:

https://attendee.gototraining.com/r/64019470331267329

 

https://www.learninga-z.com/trial-experience/raz-plus/    

 

Learning A-Z Resources for teachers, administrators and parents.  Live and recorded webinars.

https://www.learninga-z.com/site/lp2/covid19#teachers

 

Teacher and License Coordinator FAQ

https://lazcommunity.force.com/knowledgebase/s/article/COVID-19-faq

 

RAZ Kids Video overview for teachers and parents 16 minutes!

Creating a Home-School Partnership: A Parents’ Guide to Raz-Kids

___________________________________________________________________________

Sneak Peak at the New KIDS INFOBITS (May 15)
Recorded Session:  https://support.gale.com/doc/KIB_GIC-Ele_SneakPeek
​
30 minute Gale/Cengage NOVELny databases for K-12
Recorded Session: http://support.gale.com/doc/suic-webinar-5pnc4
Librarian LMS Guide: https://assets.cengage.com/gale/docs/training/LMS_ResourceGuide.pdf

OCM/Oswego Gale/Cengage Secondary Resources Webinar on April 30, 3030

https://cengage.zoom.us/rec/share/--V4ILXMr11OS4XnuB_PVqUxMproeaa803QcqPsFnU6-LftN8jZhRblAdlO1q4lK

Password: 8A&2=.^3

__________________________________________________________________________________

NY Ed Law 2D Recording:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=2&v=3bn-wKaO_yM&feature=emb_logo
__________________________________________________________________________________

AudioFile Sync Audiobooks for Teens; Free listens all summer long

Sync Audiobooks slides and video:

https://resources.overdrive.com/audiofile-and-overdrive-present-sync-audiobooks-for-teens/

________________________________________________________________________________

Bunhead with Duct Tape

Kristina Holzwiss' April 21, 2020 OCM/Oswego SLS Webinar recording:

________________________________________________________________________________________________
CiTi BOCES School Librarian, Tammy Cummings presents Digital Reading Dashboards on May 4, 2020

Recording of the webinar:
Tammy's website:  https://sites.google.com/oswegoboces.org/citi-library/reading-dashboard
_________________________________________________________________________________
Jennifer LaGarde Fake News Webinar on May 6, 2020
Fact VS Fiction jacket cover
 

FUTURE READY SCHOOL:  DOES MY COLLECTION REFLECT MY COMMUNITY?  DIVERSITY IN THE SCHOOL LIBRARY - April 30, 2019

Panelists:  Matthew Winner, Howard County Public Schools - Elementary School Librarian, etc.

https://all4ed.org/webinar-event/does-my-collection-reflect-my-community-diversity-in-the-school-library/

On April 30, 2019, All4Ed and Future Ready Schools® held a webinar for Future Ready Librarians.  Panelists discussed the value of maintaining a book collection that not only reflects the school community, but also is reflective of the global community of which we all are a part. Recognizing that centering diversity means centering the stories, experiences, and voices of historically marginalized people, including people of color, indigenous voices, LGBTQIA+ individuals and allies, differently-abled individuals, and neurodiverse voices.

Culturally responsive library programs take into account not only the content and sensitivity of lessons and supporting materials, but also what items are being purchased for the collection, what materials are being displayed or recommended to the school community, what voices are invited into the school or library for author visits or artists in residence, and what impact the work taking place within the library has on the global community.

The panelists explored

  • What does “diverse” literature mean?
  • What is the value of “own voices”?
  • What would help dissolve your fear of being challenged for including a book in your library?
  • Where do I start? How do I keep going? How do I question practices that I might have thought are best practices that may have revealed themselves to be hurting or marginalizing others?
  • What is a diversity audit and how can information collected through a diversity audit inform future purchases for the library collection?
  • What resources are available for becoming more aware of diverse books?
  • What is the value of a diverse book collection to a class or school with a homogenous population?