Women's History Month: Databases

Explore Women's History in 3 reading levels from a variety of articles and linked pages like:

• National Women's History Month
• Women's History at a Glance
• Feminism

Then check out the "Web's Best Sites" tab for links to sites on women's history projects from across the US on general topics or specific subjects like fashion, music, temperance, and the intersection of womanhood and race in America.

Explore Women's History from a variety of articles, media, and biographies. Find information on mainstays of women's history like:

• The National Women's History Alliance
• The Women's Rights Movement in the US
• The United States Women's Bureau

And more unique topics that may pique students' interests:

• Ms. Magazine
• The Women's World Cup in soccer
• Women in Science
• A long list of biographies on notable women from all eras of history and all across the globe

Then explore links to external sites on women's history and even primary source documents. 

Britannica Launch Packs - Social Studies offer topic-based collections of articles, videos, images, websites, maps, and primary sources that have been curated by Britannica editors and are linked to curriculum standards. Articles are available in up to 3 reading levels (and readers can choose their own level once they open the article) giving you an easy way to differentiate content for all learners. The articles have many of the same features as Britannica School’s online encyclopedia, including a read-aloud function, translation via Google Translate, and digital highlighting and note-taking. Videos in the content sets can be viewed on the spot or downloaded for later use; and all resources include complete citations for students to use in their bibliographies. LaunchPacks related to women's history include:

Aimed at grades 6 - 8, Gale - Middle School in Context contains magazines, newspapers, primary sources and videos. Also includes Merriam-Webster's Elementary Dictionary, maps, flags, seals, charts and graphs. Browse categories like cultures, geography, government, literature, people, science, social issues, history, and more. 

Explore the Social Issues tab to find information on Women's Rights in the US and internationally, as well as topics related to women's lives today. Learn fast facts, words to know, related subjects, links to notable public figures, and 21st century issues, events, and achievements. The US History tab includes a page on Women's Suffrage and another on Constitutional Amendments.

A search for Women's History Month returns reference articles like "Commemorative Months" and "Women's History Month" in several reading levels, images, audio, and news and magazine articles.

The Gale - High School In Context database offers easy access to interdisciplinary topics and covers the major subject areas, including biography, geography, history, government, literature, science and health, and social studies, allowing students to create connections between subject areas and to truly put topics into larger cultural, social, and historical context. 

Browse the home page by topic or click the blue Browse All Topics button to browse by decade; states, country, or region; literary titles; and more. Find resources relating to Women's History Month under topics like Biography, History, Literature & the Arts, Social Issues, and World Cultures & Religion. Or, use the search bar to return full text reference materials, essays, vetted websites, videos and audio from the NYTimes, NPR, and more. 

Biography in Context hosts biographical entries on thousands of notable international figures from all time periods and areas of study, including science and technology, arts and entertainment, literature, sports and fitness, history, popular culture, politics, and more. Browse their categories by skill (such as music, art, or writing), careers (such as aviators, inventors, or politicians), identity (race, sex/gender, or sexual orientation & gender identity), or social cause (environmentalism, philanthropy, or social reform). This database has biographies on women from all eras, in all categories, including the people that are sometimes left out or glossed over when looking at traditionally male-dominated fields like sports, politics, STEM, leadership, and more. 

Gale's U.S. History in Context (UHIC) delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from one of the most extensive online collections of historical information available. Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, decades, wars and conflicts, political and cultural movements, people, and more, UHIC is aligned to state and national curriculum standards. The Topic Finder is particularly useful for students exploring a topic but unsure of what to focus on. This tool takes the titles, subjects, and approximately the first 100 words from a subset of your top results and feeds them into an algorithm. The results can display unexpected connections between topics, related terms, and people names. 

Explore the topics "Women's Rights Movement" or "Women's Suffrage" for hundreds of resources including audio, news and magazine articles, videos, and suggested related topics.

Use the Browse Topics feature to look at other topics related to women's history such as Affirmative Action, the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire, or the Supreme Court's Roe v. Wade decision. Or, perform a search for more specific terms. The advanced search allows for researchers to filter by content type, publication dates, content level, and publication.